The US to Waive visas for Five EU Countries

There has been a transatlantic dispute running since 2014 between the US and five EU countries. This dispute requires that citizens of these countries must first obtain a US visa before they could enter the US. The EU countries involved in the dispute are Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Romania, and Poland. This dispute came up in the agenda of talks that was held last week in Washington DC between the EU and the US ministers for justice and home affairs. The US to Waive visas for Five EU Countries According to the two parties, there has been progressing in the talks between the US and the five countries seeking permissions for visa-free travel into the US. The two parties have agreed to convene again in Bucharest in the first half of 2019. In a statement made by the European Commission, the US and the EU saw the need for the reciprocity of visa free-travel which should be backed by law. These two parties appreciate the progress made so far in the agenda of talks and the efforts of the five EU countries in fulfilling the requirements of the visa waiver program. So far, out of the 28 countries in the EU, only citizens of 23 have permission to enter the US without first getting a visa.

Equality of the member nations of the EU

The five countries: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Romania, and Poland have the support of the European Commission and have severally sought the help of the EU in ending the discrimination of the US against their people. They believe that their citizens should be treated equally as all other EU-member nations since the EU stands for equal treatment of all of its citizens. Stay connected to VisaTime to get updates about visa news from Asia, Africa, US, Americas, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East! We will also assist you with the visa process for the chosen country.

Share your Comments

Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon