New Announcements on E-Visa Scheme in India

Posted on: 07 Dec 2016  |   Tags: airport , e-visa , India , port , Skill India ,

The e-visa scheme introduced by the government of India is to be expanded. For the first time sea-ports have been included in the list of designated ports allowing e-visa entry.  These include Mumbai, Chennai Kochi, Goa and Mangalore ports.  These newly announced ports are in addition to the 16 airports already allowed to let e-visa entries travel through them. Other changes to the e-visa system now allow for short term medical treatment, business visits and conferences along with tourism.  Also, the duration has been increased from a maximum of 30 days to 60 days.  New countries have also been added taking the number of eligible countries to a total of 158.  In order to facilitate the e-visa system for medical tourists the new proposals will provide separate visa counters for medical tourists and allow them up to three entries during the 60 day duration.  Other categories are allowed only two entries during the period.  E-visas can be applied for up to 120 days in advance and for emergency business trips e-visas can be issued within 48 hours of the application. Finally, the go ahead has been given for an ‘internship visa’ for who want to gain professional work experience in India. In addition to this other changes to the visa regulations announced include a revised annual income for an employment visa from $25,000 to Rs 16.25 lakh.  It is hoped that the change from $ to Rs will protect applicants from currency fluctuations.  Teaching jobs have a lower threshold of Rs9.10 lakh. Each of the above moves have been made to modernise the visa system in India and stimulate economic growth through tourism, healthcare and business. Initiatives such as Skill India and Digital India will be enhanced by liberalising the visa process to the country.

Share your Comments

Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon