Trump’s New Travel Ban Order

Posted on: 13 Mar 2017  |   Tags: immigration , USA , visa news ,

The President of the United States of America Donald Trump on Monday passed into effect an order that effectively suspended the travel ban placed on citizens from six Muslim nations for 90 days. This rule puts into revision the initial executive order initially signed on January 27, few days after Trump’s assumption of office.

March 16, 12:01 am EST is the scheduled time the new order is meant to take effect. The new order, however, does not apply to citizens of the United States living in these countries. It also doesn’t cover nationals with dual citizenship from anyone of these nations. The restriction order applies only to unaccompanied children.

Previously, the Government had marked out a few nations as posing a terrorist threat to the United States. These countries are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen, and Syria. The State Department had pointed out Iran, Iran, Yemen, Somalia, Sudan and Syria as state sponsors of terrorism. That apparently didn’t sit well with leaders and citizens of the nations above.

The close ties between the United States and Iraq prevented the latter from being included in the list of terror nations by the US. According to the Department of Justice, Iraq had always made an available documentation about its people for the immigration department of the United States than other countries.

The travelling ban order does not revoke visas for immigrants who already have theirs approved. Government officials said the U.S. could reject visa in situations of national security. Travellers with approved visas can enter the US. They must, however, prove that they can be admitted. The order also puts into consideration those who have been granted asylum or refugee status. The state Department has launched a travel schedule to be able to accommodate refugees who are yet to arrive in the US.

The State Department also spoke on the issue of people from these nations living in the US already. Foreigners with a one-time visiting visa are not permitted to leave or enter the country. Travellers with multi-entry visas, on the other hand, are permitted to come into the country before their visas expire. Should the visa expire while the holder is abroad, he/she won’t be allowed entry into the country until they are offered a new visa.

The state department, however, said it would consider granting exemptions to permits together with visa applications.

Exemptions given to travellers would be dependent on the ability of the travellers to prove that their arrival into the country is in the best interest of the Nation, and they as individuals won't’ pose a threat to the society.

Share your Comments

Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon